I have more books, except this time I actually am reading them at a break-neck pace.  I’m in two A-term courses at the U, after dropping two insanely early, boring classes that were on opposite sides of the campus.  This means I’ll have more time during B-term, when I’m packing and getting ready to move, but it also means I have almost no time now.  I’m in medieval lit (a general survey course, but a course in which we’re covering texts I’ve analyzed in history classes or read on my own) and late medieval history with the prof I really like.  I’m hoping for Shakespeare After 1603 for B term, as well as a guided reading with one of my friends and my history professor on medieval England.  It’s refreshing to get to know a medievalist who believes in the cooperation between history and literature, and understands the two fields are not mutually exclusive.  For example, our main texts for this late medieval class are the Inferno, the Canterbury Tales, The Prince, and a book on the Hundred Years War.  Three-quarters of our materials are borrowed from the lit critics, which I think is wonderful!

Hence the long time between posts.  A-term is a 10-week course shoved into 4 1/2 weeks.

While I was reading Dante’s Inferno, I watched the latest Top Chef and Work of Art episodes online.  On WOA, the artists had to design book covers for various classics: Pride and Prejudice, Frankenstein, The Time Machine, Alice in Wonderland, and Dracula.  Surprisingly, two out of three of the bottom artists had P&P, while the top honor went to someone designing The Time Machine.  I actually really liked the third bottom artist, who also had The Time Machine.  Her wallpaper-influenced design had an interesting pattern and design, and intricate wallpaper-like designs are usually my favorites in books, like these:

Penguin Classics

Dover Thrift P&P

U Star P&P (British)

Inferno (Italian)

The winning design was great; it was colorful, simple, and pleasing to the eye.  However, if Penguin and the judges of Work of Art want to select a cover for devout readers out there, I don’t know if they can beat a simple and elegant design like these.  Congrats to John, the winner, and to the P&P artists: 1) please remember it’s “Jane AustEn,” and 2) treat the text with some respect, okay?  I’m not sure a semi-nude photo or backwards text is being very thoughtful of the content.  This book is many readers’ baby, so play nice!

More than simply catching a potential reader’s attention, a book cover should be something one is proud to display on his or her shelf.  I know I gravitate towards more elegant designs which have a timeless quality instead of overly flashy, sexualized, or text-happy covers.

Complete and total side note that is slightly related to the topic: Miles is amazing.  He has fantastic knowledge of many different mediums and understands how to translate his feelings and ideas into good and thought-provoking art.  (Are you listening, Judith?)  He read Frankenstein in four hours so he could do a good book cover, is brilliant, and is adorable.  Can I pinch his cheeks?  Please?

