I was supposed to see my knee doctor this morning, but if you’ve seen the Weather Channel or the local news in Oklahoma City, you know that we’ve had a bit of a problem with flooding today.

I tired three roads from my neighborhood to I-35 and to the west, but all three roads were impassable.  The creek (Harrison Creek, I believe) had overflowed at Sooner and Hefner, and there was probably 5 or 6 feet of water rushing down the street at the intersection.  It’s right near Oakdale School, the same school that was almost completely destroyed in a tornado a few years ago.  Britton Road had a chunk missing:

and Wilshire was too flooded for Mom’s Explorer to pass through.  I got back home and checked the weather on the local news, and over a 6-8 hour period, over 10 inches of rain has fallen.  My parents had three streams running through their yard earlier, and one of the fence gates was knocked out due to the rushing water.

It’s absolutely insane!  A semi was overturned by the water on the street north of Hefner, at the Sooner intersection.  The Harrison Creek overflowed by 30 feet, and people are being evacuated from their homes by police and firepeople in rafts.  I’ve never seen anything like it, except on CNN and the Weather Channel after hurricanes or tsunamis.  Oklahoma is just not equipped for this much rain in such a short time.

I think things like this, plus the house-shaking thunder, are what have caused my fear of thunderstorms.  In Bellevue, I think we’ve had one clap of thunder during the time I’ve been there.  My roommate and I spent a significant amount of time debating whether it was a car or thunder before coming to the conclusion that the sound was too deep to have been caused by a car.  Here in Oklahoma, as well as in Texas, thunderstorms, tornados, power outages, and flooding go hand-in-hand, and it’s taken me a long time to separate those weather events from one another.  In Washington and Minnesota, rain is calming and rarely a sign of dangerous weather.

Rain is a rejuvenating force, but in areas like this, it’s also destructive.  I can’t wait for this storm to be completely past, and to get back to appreciating rain.  Fog, umbrellas, galoshes, puddles, and the calming drip, drip, drip of a light summer rain.  Ahhh…  Yes, let’s go back to that kind of rain.

And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.
– Gilbert K. Chesterton

For me, a page of good prose is where one hears the rain and the noise of battle. It has the power to give grief or universality that lends it a youthful beauty.
– John Cheever

Let the rain kiss you.  Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops.  Let the rain sing you a lullaby.
– Langston Hughes

Weather is a great metaphor for life – sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s bad, and there’s nothing much you can do about it but carry an umbrella.
– Terri Guillemets

