A woman is like a tea bag. you never know how strong she is, until she gets in hot water.  -Eleanor Roosevelt.

Each cup of tea represents an imaginary voyage.  -Catherine Douzel

Is there no Latin word for Tea?  Upon my soul, if I had known that I would have let the vulgar stuff alone.  -Hilaire Belloc*

Tea is a cup of life.  -Unknown

If man has no tea in him, he is incapable of understanding truth and beauty.  -Japanese Proverb

Tea is liquid wisdom.  -Anonymous

You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.  -C.S. Lewis

A good cup of tea makes the world seem like a brighter place.  I feel rejuvenated and inspired.  I find that tea goes well with any kind of reading and writing, and helps to calm whatever anxieties I may be feeling.  There’s something infinitely appealing about wrapping my hands around a cup of tea when I’m figuring out the word order of a sentence or choosing a quotation for a paper.  It doesn’t hurt that burying myself in my study sweater and sipping tea seems wonderfully British, either…

You can tell a lot about a person by the kind of tea they have.  First, there are endless possibilities for the texture of tea, the temperature, the type of leaf, the method of brewing, and (my favorite) the tea cup.  I personally have three favorites for my cup: my clear glass mug, my handmade moss-colored mug, and my colored tea service cups.  I tend to prefer mugs without handles, except for my clear mug.  I also like the Teavana maker, which I’ve mentioned before.  There aren’t tea dregs left, and the tea seems to have a better flavor.  I like the water just before it hits boiling because I can drink it more quickly after it’s brewed.  Yes, I can be picky, but making tea is a very simple thing I can do for myself each day, and I’ve gotten it down to a science!

Before bed tonight, I wanted to mention how lovely tea is and to acknowledge how much cheer really is in each cup.  Cheers, tea!  You make the world a better place!  Here’s to you green, maté, oolong, white, herbal, Earl Grey, English Breakfast, loose, bagged, powder, citrus, caffeinated, decaffeinated, sweetened, hot, cold, potted, thermosed, cupped, mugged, past, present, and future.

tea leaves
tea loves
loves tea
lives tea
leaves tea?
never.
-Uniek Swain

*  I assume she’s talking about Latin.  It did kill the Romans, as the saying goes…

