I saw this on the Gustavus Classics blog and thought it was amazing:

Get Fuzzy and the Trojan Horse

Also, I’ve been thinking about what tools are useful in older texts, such as the Aeneid.  Footnotes are always amazing, and I love volumes that include the original text and a translation.  Making a perfect edition of a Middle English poem is something I’m working on for class, but the edition I’m working from seems to include everything I’d wish for already!  Hmm, what to do?

Oh, and I would recommend Bernard Knox’s translations of the Iliad and the Odyssey and Robert Fagles for anything.  Stay away from Stanley Lombardo if you appreciate Greco-Roman culture and don’t want to be accosted by unnecessary modernizations, such as Ajax’s “Come on sweetheart, don’t be coy!” in the Iliad.  I’d even go so far as to say that I hated that more than the film Troy

