I’ve been very absent from the blogging world for a while, and a lot has happened since I last wrote.

I was very emotional about the whole family thing last time, as anyone could probably see, mostly because as children we tend to remember the hurtful stuff and not the wonderful bits.  I truly miss my extended family, and really want to meet my cousins’ new(ish!) spouses and children.  The last time I saw most of my extended family, excluding those who were living in Texas around the same time we were, was when I was very young.  I think I was 10 or 11, while my closest cousin was 17 or so.  Add to those uncomfortable memories the fact that I think some of them think I’m having a romantic relationship with or am sleeping with my roommate (which I should point out, I’m not, as he’s a brother to me and anything more than that would be, uh, awkward to say the least).  It wound up being impossible to do, anyway, as my Latin final was in the very last final exam time, ending at 6:30 pm the night before the party.  I somehow doubt that I would have been good company after all that cramming, a long flight, and probably very little sleep…

As I believe I mentioned before, I was accepted into the MA programs in Medieval Studies / Medieval and Renaissance Studies / Medieaval Studies at St Andrews, York, and Durham.  I finally accepted DURHAM!  I’m so excited and really can’t wait to get enrolled and find out where I’m living and if I got financial aide, etc, etc, etc.  It’s just such a beautiful place and I really feel like I’ll fit in well, especially since I’ve been corresponding with the girlfriend of my dad’s colleague’s son (got all that?) who is currently at Durham.  I know what I need to work on and how I need to prepare, which is why I’m determined to work my butt off this coming term at Washington.  I know that those grades and that transcript aren’t really for anything but to satisfy my own incurable desire for knowledge, but I think they’ll help me to jump into a master’s schedule.

Speaking of UWash, spring quarter starts tomorrow today!  If I can get all the signatures I need from my professors and departments, I’ll be taking two English classes (Middle English and Chaucer) and a history colloquium (Medieval Outlaws).  I’m so amazingly excited.  Really.  I mean, medieval outlaws?!  A class to just focus on the late medieval writer Chaucer?!  A class where I can learn to read Middle-freaking-English and the original Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Piers Plowman, and Chaucer?!  My brain is totally going to explode, in a good way!

Let’s see, on the film front, I’ve been using my Netflix membership wisely and have seen some great movies in the past month or so, and more in theaters.  Here’s my list of films and if they’re starred, they’re worth seeing (in my opinion):

  • Alice in Wonderland (3D)
  • How to Train Your Dragon*
  • The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus
  • Up in the Air*
  • Fantastic Mr. Fox*
  • A Serious Man*
  • Rebecca (Hitchcock, 1940, one of my new favorite films AND books!)*
  • Northanger Abbey (2000s, PBS/BBC)*
  • The Usual Suspects*
  • Sherlock Holmes*
  • Avatar*
  • Precious*
  • The Hurt Locker*
  • The Informant!*
  • Cinema Paradiso (complete with the cutie from Like Water for Chocolate!)*
  • Mulholland Dr. (* if you’re ready for a VERY distorted film that will make you wonder, “What the heck was that about?!”)
  • Hunger*
  • Unbearable Lightness of Being*

I’m eagerly awaiting The Princess and the Frog and An Education.  I should mention that Northanger Abbey up there has the fantastic Carey Mulligan in a supporting role.  As far as the theater films go, I am so excited for Clash of the Titans, Robin Hood, and Sharpe’s 16 (I have the episodes 1-15 at home, and admit that British history under Wellington is much more interesting when including Sean Bean).  I also should mention that I probably will have some kind of intellectual orgasm from the new Robin Hood, which is unusual for me.  I loved Elizabeth and Shakespeare in Love and Queen Margot, but that’s not my focus.  I hated (with a firey passion) Troy and Alexander, though Ridley Scott is mostly amazing, with Gladiator and Kingdom of Heaven to show for it.  And I have two copies of each of those on DVD (theatrical and extended editions.  Shhh–no judging!  I like my DVD extras and commentary.  Plus, more Russell Crowe and buff Orlando Bloom is NEVER a bad thing!)

I’m going to leave it at that for the evening.  I actually have to be up in the morning.  Where did spring break go?!

Here are a few pictures to hopefully entertain you.  I was able to see my cousin, Scott, last week when he was in the Seattle area for his work with Microsoft.  We ate at the Crab Pot restaurant on the waterfront, which was amazing.  I haven’t seen him and the rest of his family since we first moved to Oklahoma City, and he and his wife, Laura, are incredible people.  I remember holding their two youngest boys in my arms after they were born and knowing then (at 13? 14?) I wanted to be a mom.  I even crosstitched an ark for their eldest, Matthew, when he was born.  I really can’t wait to see them almost grown up and to meet the youngest, Ryan, for the first time.

The second picture is from Veronica’s visit to Seattle.  We met at Pike’s Place Market on a Sunday, and then I met her on the UW campus for a Coke after class the next day, when this pic was taken.  Don’t worry…  Our expressions are completely normal.  We have a tradition of taking pictures with utensils in our mouths each time we get together!

Here’s to a happy spring to each of you!

Scott and me, March 2010

Traditional Picture of Veronica and Me, March 2010

